top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrini Solutions

Trinidad - my point of view

Updated: Aug 3, 2018

Trinidad - reminded me of the beautiful paradise situated on the Caribbean islands. A small island surrounded by the sea and beautiful beaches. Nothin' but make reservations and embark on a journey of dreams. Trinidad also reminds me of athletes: Ato Boldon, Michelle-Lee Ahye and "Ronnie" Holassie and the famous asphalt lake, "Pitch Lake" , which makes this country rich.


I've always imagined - beautiful beaches, hammocks and umbrella drinks... Around the amused crowd of joyful people dancing to the Caribbean rhythms, and the colorful birds singing in the background.


If someone few years ago would say: "You have won a holiday in Trinidad", I would only take a few towels and a dozen beach sets ... Then I would go to a place that I called "Paradise" without thinking, hesitation and any research of this country.


Today, as much as it pains me, I must admit that Trinidad is rather Hell in Paradise! Honestly, I would never know the truth if I had not married Trini man whom I met in Europe. Just imagine what my first thoughts were when I met him... My first thoughts: "wow I have a guy from the Caribbean, so I have a chance for a holiday of my dreams"... In the end, he becomes my husband and then I thought: "so if I have a husband from "Paradise", the first thing I want to do is to visit his country, get to know traditions, culture and mores... Unfortunately, there was another disappointment waiting for me and my dreams shattered.


My husband comes from a place in which gangs govern. Gangs have authorities and government so corrupt that it works with gangs and assigns them privileges and so-called "Immunities". Robberies, assaults, kidnappings, murders and violations are the most widespread customs in Trinidad, especially in the capital (Port-Of-Spain). Youngsters are so spoiled and aggressive, that with the naked eye you can see the lack of prospects for a better tomorrow! Drugs, weed and alcohol are sold like hot cakes! Ignorance and educational deficits are characteristic features of almost every third Trinidadian. The adults lifestyle resembles a brothel! Guys sleep with whom they want and women accept this fact, and then in a dutiful way, they make a revenge on the men sleeping with just anyone! Nobody thinks about safety, they are not interested in knowledge about HIV / AIDS or other infectious diseases. I do not understand this approach to life and themselves, because you have to be stupid to desiring revenge on the men and put yourself for some sort of disease - usually deadly - it looks like you really believe that your life is nothing to you. Zero loyalty, love, respect and dignity to yourself. It's sad, but it's true!


I am able to justify these guys to a minimum extend, because they are like dogs - they can not resist temptation! Honestly, I believe that you can find a better way on them - just like on dogs - and train your faithful and obedient husband (no offense - just a metaphor). However, I am not able and can not realistically explain the behavior of these women. In my opinion, fornication of women is a nasty choice, meanness and lack of dignity to their own body and soul. Fornication, my friends, is a pestilence. A woman sharing herself with a dozen men every day is empty like a cardboard box that can be kicked, used for various kinds of rubbish, and finally destroyed and thrown into a dustbin. Really, you value yourself so low?


As a woman, I think that women in Trinidad need help and knowledge on how to respect them-self, their bodies and their surroundings. It is precisely that women should begin to change these sick traditions and customs in this country. You probably ask yourself why women? Probably many of you will say: "Of course, everything that is bad is women"! You're right, and you know why, because the woman starts it all!!! Mother Earth is a woman and as we know with nature does not discuss.


I am aware that my point of view will be strongly criticized, and especially by the feminine part of Trini society, but I am not here to offend you. I am here for you. I am in order to help you fight the evil, whose alone you are not able to see. You think it's a tradition that your mothers, grandmothers and great-grandmothers live/ed in the same way, but that does not mean you have to continue these ill traditions.

Women, more faith and respect for yourself!


Summing up my opinions, I can say that there are places in Trinidad that deserve to be called paradise, but that's only a name! Danger is in every part of Trinidad - I mean - you can not pitch a tent in the Savannah and spend the night under the open sky; you can not just wake up or walk in the evenings in the park, city or beach; walking the dog on a leash in the park is also a quirk for the local community as well as danger... Why dangerous? Because they can kidnap you, they can rob you, they can rape you or in the worst case shoot you!!! One must admit Trinidad is a beautiful country, with a wonderful view of the Caribbean Sea but with broken communities.

“Better to reign in Hell, than to serve in Heaven.” ― John Milton, Paradise Lost

More on Facebook:

KJB International Facebook Page - this company created Trini Solutions


Tip:

Trinidad - my point of view; how do I see Trinidad with my eyes?; my opinions about life, traditions and habits in Trinidad; Trini man; Trini woman; Trini youngsters;


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page